Republic Of Tatarstan, Federal Subject (a Republic) Of The Russian Federation, Located In The Volga Federal District

The Republic of Tatarstan (Russian: Республика Татарстан, romanized: Respublika Tatarstan; Tatar: Татарстан Республикасы) or simply Tatarstan (Russian: Татарстан, Tatar: Татарстан), formerly also called Tataria (Russian: Татария, Tatar: Татария), is a republic of Russia located in Eastern Europe. It is a part of the Volga Federal District; and its capital and largest city is Kazan, an important cultural centre in Russia. The republic borders Kirov, Ulyanovsk, Samara, and Orenburg Oblasts, the Mari El, Udmurt, and Chuvash Republics, and the Republic of Bashkortostan. The area of the republic is 68,000 square kilometres (26,000 sq mi). The unofficial Tatarstan motto is Bez Buldırabız! (We can!). As of the 2010 Census, the population of Tatarstan was 3,786,488.The state has strong cultural ties with its eastern neighbour, the Republic of Bashkortostan.The state languages of the Republic of Tatarstan are Tatar and Russian.