Nuevos Ministerios, Building Complex Of Madrid

Nuevos Ministerios (English: New Ministries) is a government complex in central Madrid, Spain. The complex houses several government departments: Development, Labour, Social Security, and Ecological Transition. It is located in the block delimited by the Paseo de la Castellana, the Raimundo Fernández Villaverde street, Agustín de Betancourt street and the San Juan de la Cruz square. The original project was the work of the architect Secundino Zuazo Ugalde and was soon sponsored by the then Minister of Public Works, Indalecio Prieto. Its construction began in 1933 and, although it was paralyzed during the Civil War, the entire complex was completed in 1942. It currently houses the headquarters of the Ministry of Labour and the Ministry of Public Works, among others. The entire architectural complex is integrated into the so-called AZCA center, one of the most important business centers and offices in the capital. In the vicinity is also the Nuevos Ministerios station, a multiple exchanger with services of Bus, Metro and Cercanías. The building is used in the third and fourth seasons of the series Money Heist (La Casa de Papel in Spanish), in which it is being used as the Bank of Spain.